College Ball

10/05/2012 08:15

Because our assignment to India has been delayed we have been able to take advantage of this time to see many of our family members and good friends. A few weeks ago I flew down to Florida to see my Dad (and Vonnie) for a few days. This was a blessing because I was really not sure when I would see them next since I will be half way around the world soon. We are so thankful that we have been able to stay at my In-laws (Marv & Marilyn Hoffert) during this time of transition. I have enjoyed fishing with my father-in-law and we have been spoiled with some of the best cooking around by my mother-in-law.This past weekend our daughter,Tori, had her first college softball games playing for Nyack College. We decided to surprise her and travel 7 hours to Scranton, PA (home of "The Office") on Saturday for her 3 games. That meant leaving at 5 am but it was worth it. Needless to say, it was a big surprise to Tori when she saw us. Okay, here is the proud Dad part. Tori started at shortstop as a freshman. She played 3 games without an error and hit the ball very well including her first college home run over the center field fence in the 2nd game. The best part of the day was taking her to lunch and spending some quality time with her that we didn't expect to have until our next return from India. Times like this have made it worth the wait for our departure.