Back in the College Game

07/21/2015 09:44

After 2 1/2  rewarding years in India I have been presented an opportunity that I believe is best for my family at this time. I have accepted the position as head coach at Northwest Nazarene University, a NCAA Div. II school just outside of Boise, ID. I want to thank the Basketball Federation of India, IMG, the Indian coaches and players, and all of the supporters of India basketball for this life changing experience. I can't imagine my life without India. During my stay it was great to see basketball make significant strides on the international level. I have now passed the torch and look forward to seeing even greater accomplishments by the Indian national teams in the years to come. I hope to stay connected and possibly some day coach the team again. 

                                                                 

I have a great challenge ahead of me. NNU competes in possibly the best Div. II conference in the country. It may not happen overnight but my goal is to compete for conference championships and put us on the national stage. This will also be another opportunity for me to have a platform to make an eternal impact on my players and those that I come in contact with through our great game.

                                                            

I am excited about the coaching staff I have put together. (Paul Rush, Jon Hawkins, Daniel Nyom) These are like-minded, talented young men that want to succeed on the court, but more importantly want to live out their faith to help shape the lives of our players. 

There was no time to relax when I first landed at NNU. In the 7 weeks since arriving I have been recruiting, scheduling games, conducting camps, meeting with basketball alums, speaking at booster events and moving my family to Nampa. I am presently on a 3 week trip recruiting in southern California and Las Vegas. 

I was able to stay with my son's in LA on this trip. Our immediate family is finally in close proximity. We will all be within a day's drive. 

I am so thankful that God has allowed me to do what I still have a passion for. I look forward to embracing the NNU campus community and fulfulling the mission of the school by building a basketball program they can be proud of on and off the court.   SALT & LIGHT